Forgiveness.

3 Dec

Lately, I have been going through some stuff between school and home that hurt me. And I’m not going to lie, I can hold a grudge. Usually, I just brush things off, but if you really hurt me, I’m going to remember, and be angry for a while. That’s just me. It’s not the greatest thing in the world, and yah I guess I could work harder at changing that, but if I’m angry enough to not want to forgive someone, I probably have good reason.

I’m on a number of mailing lists, (and yes, this IS relevant.) and one of them that I follow is called ‘The Daily Love’. They send out life quotes, good life quotes, ones that are so good they actually make you think. That’s all they have ever been to me, “good life quotes”. Until today. Today’s was all about forgiveness. The whole thing.

“Forgiveness does not change the past, but it does enlarge the future.”

– Paul Boese, was a Dutch botanist.

“Forgiveness is the sweetest revenge.”

– Isaac Friedmann, is an American physicist.

“When you hold resentment toward another, you are bound to that person or condition by an emotional link that is stronger than steel. Forgiveness is the only way to dissolve that link and get free.”

– Catherine Ponder, minister.

“Forgiveness is the most powerful thing that you can do for your physiology and your spirituality, and it remains one of the least attractive things to us, largely because our egos rule so unequivocally.  To forgive is somehow associated with saying that it is all right, that we accept the evil deed. But this is not forgiveness. Forgiveness means that you fill yourself with love and you radiate that love outward and refuse to hang onto the venom or hatred that was engendered by the behaviors that caused the wounds.  Forgiveness is a spiritual act of love for yourself and it sends a message to everyone, including yourself, that you are an object of love and that that is what you are going to impart.”

– Dr. Wayne W. Dyer, best-selling author, speaker and a true inspiration.

I know. It’s all about forgiveness. The more I looked at it, the more I scrolled down. Then I found something I had never seen before. The rest of the email. I had always just stopped reading after the quotes, but there’s so much more! The creator of the site posted a message about how forgiveness has helped so much in his life. Then there was things to say to you’re self (almost like a mantra). I didn’t know what to think then I read all this. I was, speechless. It was exactly what I needed to read. Will it help me forgive without holding a grudge? Probably not. But will it help remind me to forgive? You bet ya’.

Here’s the link to The Daily Love’s site, if you want to sign up for the mail list it’s at the top. You’ll also get the full post from today. And also their twitter name.

thedailylove.com

@TheDailyLove.

Leave a Reply

